Giving thanks

Some of us make a ritual of giving thanks daily.  Some of us remember to give thanks when something big comes our way, or when a particular holiday (Holy Day) occurs on the calendar.  No matter where we fall on that scale, we can all experience random moments of thankfulness.

Being thankful is an important part of personal health.  We have to give thanks for who we are, where we’re at, and where we’re going – regardless of our situation.  Everything is a matter of perspective, everything is relative, and everything is subject to change.  It’s important to ground ourselves from time to time by realizing just all the Universe has going for us – there is ALWAYS a lesson to be learned.

Today, I am thankful for a warm fireplace, and burrito fixings to reheat for lunch.  I’m thankful for a research contract to bring in a small paycheck, and a happy husky dog with whom to share my joy.  I’m thankful for my dearest friends and family.  I’m thankful for grey clouds in Philadelphia to remind me of my home in Seattle.

What are you thankful for?  Take a minute, step back, and “count your blessings.”  No matter what anvil the Universe dropped on your head today, there’s still room for gratitude.  If you can truly make breath for thankfulness, your mental, spiritual, and physical health can receive a bigger boost than any pill might ever deliver.

One Response

  1. I am thankful for the miracles I have experienced in my life, recently and past…..and for the good people who have made my life worth living. I am also grateful for the pets who have shared my life through the years, they have also meant so much.

    Beautiful post Jade! 🙂

Leave a Reply

