Carrot Cake a la Cold Frame

Carrots from the Cold Frame, © Copyright 2008 Jade Leone Blackwater

For the New Year I baked a carrot cake using the last of the carrots from the cold frame.  Moving the carrots gave some much needed light-and-breathing room to the baby greens, and we enjoyed an excellent cake.

Carrots from the Cold Frame, © Copyright 2008 Jade Leone Blackwater

The pictures here do not do justice to the treasure we found when I pulled up the old carrots – one mammoth carrot, which likely weighed a full pound, and was over an inch in diameter!  It comprised half of the 3 cups of shredded carrot needed for the recipe.

I used the “Best-Ever Carrot Cake” recipe in my copy of Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book 12th ed. (p.159), substituting in 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour.  I also added my own spices, which is something I enjoy.  For dishes like carrot cake or pumpkin pie, I find it hard to resist adding a pinch of ginger, a dash of nutmeg, and perhaps a touch of lemon.

New Year Carrot Cake, © Copyright 2008 Jade Leone Blackwater

I was careful to use the finest side on my four-sided grater when shredding these carrots – if the carrot shreds are too heavy, they can sink through the cake. The cream cheese frosting was a snap, but unfortunately I made too much: remember that if you’re doing a single-layer rectangle cake instead of a two-layer round cake, you only need half the icing in the BHG recipe (p.171).

New Year Carrot Cake, © Copyright 2008 Jade Leone Blackwater

Note: If you’re looking for something different, Geraldine Hartman offers “Carrot Cake with a Twist” and “Cream Cheese Icing” from her book Not Just for Vegetarians (p.165), and she also likes “Sam’s Famous Carrot Cake” available at Allrecipes.com.

Coming up in February at AppleJade: we will talk more about cold frames and composting, continue our discussions on health and attitude, and we will also begin exploring the world of Geraldine Hartman’s Not Just for Vegetarians.  I’ll be posting once or twice per week – stay tuned.

4 Responses

  1. What a great post for Feb. 1st!

    Yummmmmmmm……and how wonderful to have carrots you grew, for the cake ( in the middle of winter) makes it so much better.

    This is a great cake recipe, I’ve already made it several times, only adjustment to original recipe on Allrecipes was to cut down on the sugar. I usually find most cake recipes overly sweet, easy to suit to taste. 🙂

  2. PS: In my comment above, I am referring to Sam’s Famous Carrot Cake recipe, just to clarify.

    Your choice of spices sound great JL, makes such a difference, tweeking spices to make a particular recipe extra special!

  3. Agreed Geraldine – it wasn’t until I gained a little confidence with cooking that I began to see how easy it is to modify recipes to suit my personal tastes!

  4. Mmmm looks fresh and delish. I also recently post a carrot cake entry on my blog. Had some problems with the ‘too-sweet’ icing.

Leave a Reply

